Testimonials & Reviews

4.94/5
M. Shane Dawson, MD, FACS -  - General Surgery

M. Shane Dawson, MD, FACS

General Surgery, Laparoscopic Surgery & Robotic Surgery located in Upper East Side, New York, NY

31 total reviews

Dr. M. Shane Dawson always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 31 reviews with an average rating of 4.94 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. M. Shane Dawson below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

YAA A.
Submitted 01/11/21
Dr Dawson is an exceptional surgeon and provides compassionate care! He is very gentle and has an amazing bedside manners. He personally contacted me several times pre and post-op to make sure all my concerns were addressed to alleviate anxiety. For Dr Dawson, no question is silly. He took time to answer all my questions and also gave me a clear idea of what to expect post-op. His office staff were also great and very helpful. As a surgical PA I’ll recommend Dr Dawson to anybody!
JAMES P.
Submitted 12/09/20
I had a consult and Dr. Dawson today. He spent over an hour explaining my situation and how he would surgically correct it. I can’t recall a doctor who was so receptive to a patient’s questions. He certainly instilled a lot of trust as I consider moving ahead with the operation. More importantly, he also seems very capable.
JERALD G.
Submitted 11/18/20
Excellent clinical and personalized care in every dimension..I felt completely confident in choosing him as my surgeon
RAYMOND K.
Submitted 11/08/20
Clear, concise and frank discussion of medical issues during office visits.
Jeff K.
Submitted 10/23/20
I cannot imagine a better experience for the repair of 3 hernias! Dr Dawson's expertise, manner and professionalism were outstanding. He was a pleasure to work with and the results are excellent. He explained the procedure and it went off like clock work. I am totally pleased that i selected Dr. Dawson to do my surgery.
DAVID K.
Submitted 10/21/20
A great experience. Dr Dawson’s staff is impeccable and intake could not have been more personal or efficient. Dr saw me on time. Dr Dawson took his time to talk and go over my history for a generous amount of time before examination, which was quick and comfortable. We sat down again, and Dr Dawson made a diagnosis and again took his time to offer clear options for surgery and clear contact information for moving forward. Glad to meet Dr Dawson. I know from his reputation that he is an expert surgeon... But even his office if beautiful and I’d give him 10 out of 10 David Kulick
BRUCE S.
Submitted 10/21/20
it was a very helpful visit. Dr Dawson is a good listener. I SO appreciated our chat about diet. I feel I m in such good hands and Heart
James N.
Submitted 10/18/20
As a board certified general surgeon and plastic surgeon, I am impressed with Dr. Dawson's calm demeanor, his willingness to listen, his analysis and approach to a complicated surgical problem, and his expertise in accomplishing our objective - that is - repair of a recurrent right inguinal hernia that had had three previous attempts at repair by other surgeons.
RAYMOND K.
Submitted 10/02/20
Five star rating for Dr. Dawson on my recent hernia surgery at the MEETH. Office visit, examination, coordination with the hospital, and the surgery itself went smoothy, with great concern shown for my health and safety. Highly recommend Dr. Dawson and his team.
LINDA A.
Submitted 09/25/20
Despite age and severe underlying conditions. I had a successful operation. More importantly in these times of crisis, Dr. Dawson checked in on me , looking to see if I had any setbacks from the surgery. He also made a special effort to see me outside of our appointment schedule. Many thanks to the Doctor, and his excellent staff.
KRISTEN C.
Submitted 09/23/20
I was welcomed by Dr Dawson’s friendly and beyond helpful patient coordinator, Jackie. I then met with Dr Dawson who was so knowledgeable and personable he eased all my nerves and answered all of my questions. I instantly knew I was in the best hands possible after meeting with him.
JAMES B.
Submitted 09/02/20
Job well done! I was well informed about the procedure and discomfort was minimal.
VIRGINIA B.
Submitted 09/01/20
Dr. Dawson was kind, patient and professional. He took the time to explain different procedures and all of my options and answered all of my questions.
James N.
Submitted 08/05/20
Dr. Dawson has an efficient and cordial staff. My situation is a bit complicated because I have had two failed inguinal hernia operations performed elsewhere where the same surgeon used "Perfix plugs." Dr. Dawson carefully reviewed my medical history, performed a thorough examination, confirmed my diagnosis of a recurrent inguinal hernia, and advised me regarding my options. He was unhurried even though I was embarrassingly late for my appointment. He explained in detail how he would perform the procedure. As a physician, Board Certified in General Surgery, I feel totally confident having Dr. Dawson perform the procedure.
Michael C.
Submitted 06/19/20
Dr. Dawson may literally be the best doctor I've ever had. He performed hernia surgery on me last week. He's incredibly skilled, knowledgeable, friendly, kind, patient with questions, I could go on. OK, when I was having a strange reaction to pain meds a couple days after the surgery I texted him at 8:00 on a Saturday night and he called me right back. What doctor does that? He's a truly great one.
MICHAEL C.
Submitted 05/27/20
Shane Dawson is great. Knowledgeable, friendly, and willing to answer all my questions. I can't recommend him highly enough.
BARBARA L.
Submitted 03/07/20
Dr. Dawson thoroughly explained my condition, patiently listened to me, made me feel comfortable.
LESLIE L.
Submitted 12/31/19
I found Dr.Dawson to be very informative, kind, caring and considerate. He explains everything to you in a manner you understand and engages with you through the whole process. I had a great experience and highly recommend him.
Antony A.
Submitted 12/30/19
Dr Dawson was very approachable and amazingly helpful. He stayed in touch throughout my pre and post surgery. I have yet to have a better experience with a Doctor. 100% first class care and attention.
Michael C.
Submitted 12/04/19
Where do I begin to share my wonderful experience with Dr Dawson ? I had put off having hernia surgery for more than a year, not having been comfortable with a number of surgeons I met with. From my first consultation with Dr Dawson, I felt at ease, my anxieties gone, and confident in his explanation of how he would handle my procedure and in his ability to do so. Dr Dawson was assuring and walked me through every step of what I would experience and explained that performing my surgery robotically was the best way to go. There were no surprises. The morning of the surgery, he came to see me prior to my going to the OR and again, calmed my nerves and alleviated my concerns. The surgery went very well and he came to see me again to check on how I was feeling afterwards and prior to my leaving the hospital. I was home that afternoon with almost no pain. Not only did I not take any of the prescribed pain killers, I never even took as much as a Tylenol as the pain was so minimal. During the next few days, we exchanged several e mails as he looked to see how I was doing. Dr Dawson is a very caring, responsive and skilled surgeon who I would highly recommend without reservation ! Thank you Dr Dawson .