Testimonials & Reviews

4.95/5
M. Shane Dawson, MD, FACS -  - General Surgery

M. Shane Dawson, MD, FACS

General Surgery, Laparoscopic Surgery & Robotic Surgery located in Upper East Side, New York, NY

44 total reviews

Dr. M. Shane Dawson always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 44 reviews with an average rating of 4.95 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. M. Shane Dawson below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

James N.
Submitted 10/18/20
As a board certified general surgeon and plastic surgeon, I am impressed with Dr. Dawson's calm demeanor, his willingness to listen, his analysis and approach to a complicated surgical problem, and his expertise in accomplishing our objective - that is - repair of a recurrent right inguinal hernia that had had three previous attempts at repair by other surgeons.
RAYMOND K.
Submitted 10/02/20
Five star rating for Dr. Dawson on my recent hernia surgery at the MEETH. Office visit, examination, coordination with the hospital, and the surgery itself went smoothy, with great concern shown for my health and safety. Highly recommend Dr. Dawson and his team.
LINDA A.
Submitted 09/25/20
Despite age and severe underlying conditions. I had a successful operation. More importantly in these times of crisis, Dr. Dawson checked in on me , looking to see if I had any setbacks from the surgery. He also made a special effort to see me outside of our appointment schedule. Many thanks to the Doctor, and his excellent staff.
KRISTEN C.
Submitted 09/23/20
I was welcomed by Dr Dawson’s friendly and beyond helpful patient coordinator, Jackie. I then met with Dr Dawson who was so knowledgeable and personable he eased all my nerves and answered all of my questions. I instantly knew I was in the best hands possible after meeting with him.
JAMES B.
Submitted 09/02/20
Job well done! I was well informed about the procedure and discomfort was minimal.
VIRGINIA B.
Submitted 09/01/20
Dr. Dawson was kind, patient and professional. He took the time to explain different procedures and all of my options and answered all of my questions.
James N.
Submitted 08/05/20
Dr. Dawson has an efficient and cordial staff. My situation is a bit complicated because I have had two failed inguinal hernia operations performed elsewhere where the same surgeon used "Perfix plugs." Dr. Dawson carefully reviewed my medical history, performed a thorough examination, confirmed my diagnosis of a recurrent inguinal hernia, and advised me regarding my options. He was unhurried even though I was embarrassingly late for my appointment. He explained in detail how he would perform the procedure. As a physician, Board Certified in General Surgery, I feel totally confident having Dr. Dawson perform the procedure.
Michael C.
Submitted 06/19/20
Dr. Dawson may literally be the best doctor I've ever had. He performed hernia surgery on me last week. He's incredibly skilled, knowledgeable, friendly, kind, patient with questions, I could go on. OK, when I was having a strange reaction to pain meds a couple days after the surgery I texted him at 8:00 on a Saturday night and he called me right back. What doctor does that? He's a truly great one.
MICHAEL C.
Submitted 05/27/20
Shane Dawson is great. Knowledgeable, friendly, and willing to answer all my questions. I can't recommend him highly enough.
BARBARA L.
Submitted 03/07/20
Dr. Dawson thoroughly explained my condition, patiently listened to me, made me feel comfortable.
LESLIE L.
Submitted 12/31/19
I found Dr.Dawson to be very informative, kind, caring and considerate. He explains everything to you in a manner you understand and engages with you through the whole process. I had a great experience and highly recommend him.
Antony A.
Submitted 12/30/19
Dr Dawson was very approachable and amazingly helpful. He stayed in touch throughout my pre and post surgery. I have yet to have a better experience with a Doctor. 100% first class care and attention.
Michael C.
Submitted 12/04/19
Where do I begin to share my wonderful experience with Dr Dawson ? I had put off having hernia surgery for more than a year, not having been comfortable with a number of surgeons I met with. From my first consultation with Dr Dawson, I felt at ease, my anxieties gone, and confident in his explanation of how he would handle my procedure and in his ability to do so. Dr Dawson was assuring and walked me through every step of what I would experience and explained that performing my surgery robotically was the best way to go. There were no surprises. The morning of the surgery, he came to see me prior to my going to the OR and again, calmed my nerves and alleviated my concerns. The surgery went very well and he came to see me again to check on how I was feeling afterwards and prior to my leaving the hospital. I was home that afternoon with almost no pain. Not only did I not take any of the prescribed pain killers, I never even took as much as a Tylenol as the pain was so minimal. During the next few days, we exchanged several e mails as he looked to see how I was doing. Dr Dawson is a very caring, responsive and skilled surgeon who I would highly recommend without reservation ! Thank you Dr Dawson .
Greta P.
Submitted 11/16/19
I have a been a patient of Dr Dawson's in the past and I worked with him as a surgical nurse for many years. From my direct insider experience, he is a gifted and compassionate surgeon and I would recommend him to work on me, anyone in my family, and to anyone who needs his services. I looked up his site today because I was in the process of recommending him to a good friend. I figured while I was here, I would share my experience.
Cindy K.
Submitted 07/12/19
Dr. M. Shane Dawson performed a gallbladder removal and an umbilical hernia repair in late June 2019. He is a dedicated, kind, compassionate and highly skilled surgeon who truly takes the time to listen and explains everything step-by-step. This is the third surgical procedure that Dr. Dawson has performed on me over the last ten years. Dr. Dawson is an asset to the medical profession.
Stephen S.
Submitted 05/13/19
Shane was an amazing surgeon who showed superb skill as well as professionalism in all respects . Shane is a true gentleman Thank you
Susan P.
Submitted 05/13/19
Dr. Dawson is one of the best doctors I have ever been to. He has the most amazing bedside manner. I was incredibly nervous about my surgery and he talked me through the entire process and calmed my fears. He is also an excellent surgeon. I am so happy that I selected him to do my procedure.
Lisa R.
Submitted 05/09/19
Dr Dawson was clear, kind, explained things well. Thank you dr dawson
Pippa P.
Submitted 05/09/19
I can not praise Dr. Dawson enough. Not only did he serve my medical needs brilliantly but, my individual and emotional needs as well. He is a superb doctor.
Edward C.
Submitted 05/09/19
From the first time I met with Dr Dawson regarding possible surgery, he listen actively to my symptoms. He carefully walked me through the prognosis and ultimately the surgery. His bedside manner is a new benchmark for his colleagues in the medical community. Highly recommend!