Testimonials & Reviews

4.97/5
M. Shane Dawson, MD, FACS -  - General Surgery

M. Shane Dawson, MD, FACS

General Surgery, Laparoscopic Surgery & Robotic Surgery located in Upper East Side, New York, NY

71 total reviews

Dr. M. Shane Dawson always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 71 reviews with an average rating of 4.97 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. M. Shane Dawson below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

ELIZABETH W.
Submitted 07/21/22
Expert technicals, positive experience
CHRISTINE P.
Submitted 07/20/22
Dr Dawson is on a level by himself and cannot be matched with any other Surgeon I have met. He took his time to explained every detail of his operation and gave my options to think about. From the moment I met him I felt I was in good hands. His kindness, patience and manners puts one at ease.
JENNIFER H.
Submitted 07/18/22
Dr. Dawson is the kindest, most compassionate doctor I have ever had. He explains the procedure step-by-step in a very reassuring way. He also operated on my father in the past and was so wonderful. I would recommend him highly to anyone. He is a gem.
ROBERT I.
Submitted 07/18/22
Dr. Dawson was well prepared for the consultation since he had operated on me before and had all the facts with details from the first operation. Then he explained me with details how he will proceed to attack the hernia problem this time. Every detail was covered in our consultation!
AARON C.
Submitted 06/27/22
Positive flexible interactions with Dr Dawson. Described the procedure I was to have in detail and layman’s terms. Seemed interested in my overall health and demeanor.
PETER L.
Submitted 06/15/22
Dr. Dawson is an excellent communicator who is focused on professionalism and care for the patient.
ALICE S.
Submitted 05/25/22
Dr. Dawson is an outstanding doctor - excellent diagnostician, great bedside manner, extremely knowledgeable and, very importantly, kind, compassionate and caring. I highly recommend him - as I do to all my friends and family.
RAMONA K.
Submitted 05/23/22
Dr Dawson and his staff are exceptional! Jackie and Kimberly are always kind and accommodating. Stephen always takes the time to listen and is always helpful. Dr Dawson is the best! He listens, takes the time to answer questions and is never rushed. He truly cares and is always available if there is a problem. He has been my surgeon since 2006; myself and family are forever grateful to him. Dr Dawson is attentive, knowledgeable, friendly and truly passionate about what he does.
ANDRZEJ R.
Submitted 04/21/22
All excellent communication and access!
Tina J.
Submitted 04/18/22
Fantastic doctor who cares about his patients
JESSICA S.
Submitted 04/13/22
Dr. Dawson is kind, thorough, and thoughtful. I’d recommend him to anyone.
LOIS E.
Submitted 04/11/22
I just had a third hernia surgery The first 2 we're not with Dr. Dawson Unfortunately. I am confident this will be the last. Feeling so much better. I have Received the best of care from pre-op To Post-op.
NANCY V.
Submitted 04/07/22
Dr. Dawson is the most caring, knowledgeable, experienced surgeon - who I am convinced has saved many lives - including mine. There is no finer surgeon and kinder healthcare professional who deeply cares about his patients.
YUZURU A.
Submitted 04/07/22
Excellent surgeon. Very attentive and Caring.
HERBERT R.
Submitted 04/07/22
Very welcoming and professional
MICHAEL D.
Submitted 03/31/22
Dr Dawson is a very caring and patient man. He made my pre and post op care a very pleasant experience.
RAMONA K.
Submitted 03/14/22
Dr Dawson is attentive, empathetic, respectful and knowledgeable. This will be my 3rd procedure with him, as I had an appendectomy and a cholecystectomy with him in the past. I highly recommend him. His staff, Jackie and Kimberly, are wonderful. They are very patient and easy to communicate with.
LAWRENCE L.
Submitted 02/28/22
I have nothing but great things to say about Dr. Dawson. He spoke with me before the surgery and told me what to expect. He checked in on me in the recovery room and called my wife to let her know every thing went well. He called me every day to check in on my recovery. I would highly recommend Dr. Dawson
HOLLY F.
Submitted 02/15/22
I very highly recommend Dr. Dawson. My OB sent me to see him after delivering my second child as I had hernias. He considered very carefully my situation (not just medically but personally and professionally) and recommended very sound medical advice. I eventually had my hernias repaired by Dr. Dawson and have been so impressed by him and the care I received. My surgery went flawlessly and I was really surprised how quickly I felt better. He is a very skilled surgeon. What sets him apart is his attention to you as a person and his communication skills. Many excellent surgeons are not exactly known for their bedside manner. He is very easy to communicate with and was reachable 24/7 after my surgery. He is also incredibly nice and a genuinely enjoyable person to know! He is really a gem.
RYAN C.
Submitted 02/08/22
Such a wonderful, personable doctor.